jump to navigation

Slowing down & speeding up January 8, 2011

Posted by Jess in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I haven’t blogged the last three days so to any of the 10 people who read this here blog – sorry! I’ve been seeing friends & getting out as much as I can as I’m back to work on Monday! This is both good and bad. Good because It’s something to do but bad because i’ll miss the sleep-ins till 10am.

This year, I have resolved to cook more. It’s not just about the food & eating it & it tasting yum, it’s about learning a new skill & creating something from scratch. I think it’s after watching so much MasterChef. But MasterChef is so entertaining.

I don’t want to do the whole Julie & Julia route though, where a woman cooked all of the recipes from Julia Childs’ first cook book. No, I want to just find recipes, or even have recipes recommended for me by friends, and try them out. I’m into colour and smell more than taste, so those are what will probably drive my recipe choices.

However, I must admit this does link to one of my resolutions, which is to eat better. It’s easier to figure out calorie counts for meals you cook yourself from raw materials, rather than being confuded* with buy out food & their hidden mysteries.

I want to do fruit things first because it seems easy (lazy) and fruit is noms at this time of year:

Strawberry-Raspberry Sundaes

Gingersnap Banana Frozen Yoghurt

Rhubarb-Vanilla Compote

* This was a typo. I guess I did a Sarah Palin. “Refudiate”, anyone?

Strawberry-Raspberry Sundae. Credit: KitchenDaily.com

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

