jump to navigation

Fakeness is so hard to apply December 30, 2010

Posted by Jess in Fashion & Accessories.
Tags:
trackback

I HAVE BEEN DEFEATED BY FAKE EYELASHES. Here is an example of what fake eyelashes, when applied correctly, should look like:

Credit: Make-Up Geek

And here is mine:

Oh dear.

I really like the fuller eyelash look, as I already have longer-than-average eyelashes. Mascara doesn’t really give me the fullness I want but i’m hoping I can find the perfect/appropriate fake eyelash brand to use. HALP.

Comments»

1. Mandy - December 30, 2010

I’ve only worn fakies once and that was for a friend’s wedding. The makeup artist applied them though – there’s no WAY I could do it.

Mascara-wise though – have you tried Chanel’s mascara? I tried it in the States and it made my lashes look super fake and thick!

Jess - December 30, 2010

It is definitely time for an upgrade on the mascara front. I’m still currently using Maybelline’s XXL Mascara with the double-ended wand style. I don’t use the white mascara, just the black.

I did find it hard to apply the eyelash in this instance & the photo I posted of the finished product is actually quite deceitful – the band is actually sitting very high above my eyelash line! I just like the idea of “unreal lashes” but will look into the mascara thing! Thanks for your comment :}

2. NH - May 18, 2011

I know you posted this ages ago, but the fake lashes I got from $3 Japan on Queen Street work well! I use them with the glue they sell too. I generally smudge a little pencil eyeliner on my eyelid first, so if theres a bit of gap you can’t tell as badly. I usually apply them by dotting the rim of the fake eyelash with the glue, wait a few seconds for it to go a bit sticker, then shut my eye and press it on as low as I can, then open my eye and try wriggle it closer to my actual lash line. And then I go over the join of fake lash/eyelid with liquid eyeliner. Patience is the key! If i’m in a rush, it fails every time. I also have long but thin eyelashes. Hopefully you’ve found a solution by now anyway!

Jess - May 18, 2011

Cheers for the tips/sharing your story! 🙂


Leave a Reply

