jump to navigation

Bye-bye, pop song. December 28, 2010

Posted by Jess in Music.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

“Music” as defined by this generation is anything with thumping in the background. It doesn’t have to fit together properly, it can even be out of time. A lot of it is really catchy, however I don’t know whether the lyrics are really appropriate for the audience who listens to it on the radio.

At 8pm last night, a song with the line “the boys wanna get their mitts into my oven” was just casually playing over the speakers. I, a 21-year-old, was really appalled. What happened to the days of “my heart will go on and on” or “I wish that I had Jessie’s girl”?

Am I wrong to want a lovely, sweet, lyrically-appropriate lovey pop song instead of heartless crap? What about the day when you are dropping off or are being dropped off by a date and the radio is on, and the moment where a goodbye/parting kiss is expected? Would you like to have this moment-ruiner start up?

As much as this song is super addictive & how much I am in love with Dev, how is it fine to assume saying “sober girls around me, they be, acting like they drunk” is acceptable for courting at a club or let alone in the car after a date?

I want some good, wholesome “you are my one and only” or “you are so beautiful to me” back on the radio. Bruno Mars is holding his own as the current crooner of the day but there’s only so much crooning Mr Mars can do to compete with Enrique Iglesias’ I Like It (hat tip Hayley).

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

